San Diego

24 10 2011

I’ve made it to San Diego!!

This place is beautiful and if you peer over the side of my balcony and squint, you can see the ocean. Quite a view.

SO, after a week of moving into my first apartment in 2.5 yrs, this week is my first week in full swing at the new command. The people seem pretty chill as a whole. There’s only about 100 of us here so far. But those that I have met are generally agreeable.

The apartment I’m at, a friend, Kitty, actually lives here and talked me into moving up here, is a 2 br 2 bath, on the third floor in an apartment complex. It’s pretty small, and the property manager, Meri, is awesome. She’s late 20’s, and our personalities totally click. Honestly, she’s what sold me on the place. Other than the obvious perks of living somewhat close to base, near general conveniences of life, a pool, parking, safety, etc. Plus, a dishwasher. Sold!

I came and saw the place – the only apartment I looked at – on a Thursday, and signed paperwork and moved in on Friday, which was coincidentally my birthday. So, I guess I’ll never forget when to pay rent 🙂 The day I moved in me and Kitty went to Ikea to pick up some furniture pieces, and basic Ikea nonsensical items. When we got home for the day, I walked into my new place and there were flowers, a balloon, and a piece of chocolate cake with a candle in it, from Meri! Talk about the sweetest Landlord. Ever.

I’m learning my way around – and I really like the area I live in. It’s about 20 mins from base, and 10 mins from everything else convenient. There’s actually a grocery store around the block, and a burrito place and McDonalds within walking distance. I went for a little stroll the other day and saw the strangest lightening warning sign on a light pole…It was like a man with a lightening bolt coming out of his…..junk region. I’ll have to relocate and get a pic of it. Prrrretty hilarious.

Of course I’ve hit up the obvious, Chipotle, Jamba Juice, and Ikea. I have yet to locate the Hobby Lobby, but I have plenty of time for that yet.

October is almost over already! Me n Kitty are getting our Halloween costumes together, it’s a secret for now, buuuuut there are pics to come. Let’s just say it’s me, her huz, and her…and they are matching…sort of. I think I’m going to try and go up to L.A. to visit a friend for a haunted hayride this weekend. It sounds pretty off the chain. Plus, anything in L.A. is larger than life.

My man is coming out to visit in early November. I’m pretty damn excited. It’ll only have been 30 days-ish since I’ve seen him, but that is way too long. We are checking out tix to Disneyland, I was doing some research online last night, adn that place is like a playground for not only kids, but adults, there are pllllenty of activities for peeps without kids. I’ve been to Disneyworld, and Knotts Berry Farm, but never Disneyland. I think it would be a fun day!

Oh, and we are going to tour a Navy ship. I’m excited to show him around base and what my life is like out here. Though I won’t know all the great places, sights, eats, etc, I think we can wing it. Plus, that’s what GPS is for 😉

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

