Seth Levi

15 09 2011

I meant to post this on the 9th…but I have been a bit busy.

A friend posted this on her Facebook in remembrance for someone we lost exactly ten years ago.

“Those we love don’t go away,

They walk beside us every day,

Unseen, unheard, but always near,

Still loved, still missed and very dear.”

Pretty much everyone I know has lost someone close to them. I don’t know if it’s an eerie coincidence or just the reality of the world we live in.

No matter who you have lost I don’t think anyone forgets the day when you have to say goodbye to a loved one. Especially if it was in an unexpected way.

There’s not really much you can say about it, but on that day ten years ago I recall a room full of people -two rooms- due to the amount of people there was an overflow room in the back of the church. I remember greeting his mom, his dad, his family and not really knowing what to say. Funerals are funny in that way. Maybe you don’t really need to say anything. The family knows you are there to pay your respects and pass on your condolences. It’s just heart wrenching seeing everyone and watching people let go of what happened. It’s been ten years and I still can’t make sense of it. It’s probably not my place to even talk about what happened, but it did happen.

Seth took his own life. It’s a fact and there’s no sugar coating it.

At first I think we were all very surprised, but shocked would be a better word. Perhaps it’s “always” the happy ones that you never would expect to take their own lives. But being 16 it was hard to make sense of it all and to this day I’m still confused and a little angry about it to be honest. You think after so long I would have come to terms with it, but I just don’t understand how someone could do that.

Either way, he is forever in my heart and I think about what he would be like these days and where he would be in life. He would have undoubtedly been dashingly handsome and successful at doing something he loved.

Actions

Information

One response

15 09 2011
maggiemarriott

It still has an impact on me even though it has been 10 years. I don’t have any idea what was going through his mind but he had and still has a lot of people that care for him. Maybe if he knew all the lives he touched things might have turned out different. We can never know. I only hope that wherever he is right now that he is happy.

Leave a Reply

