Unbelievable

10 08 2011

I’m sure everyone has heard about the helo crash in Afghanistan that happened on the 6th.

If you haven’t, the story is below:

http://www.armytimes.com/news/2011/08/military-some-troops-killed-in-helo-crash-identified-080811/

There are really no words to describe how tragic and unbelievable this is.

I was stationed with one of the men who died in the crash, and I remember him as being a great guy who could walk into any room and light it up. And I know people say that all the time about their friends and loved ones, but this guy really could. He had a thick accent, Philadelphia to be exact, and a crazy sense of humor and always knew how to make you smile and have a good time. And on top of that he was kind, honest, and dedicated to his job.

I knew he was doing something with the SEALS, but didn’t know exactly where or what he was doing because of the whole secrecy/liability thing. So when I heard about what happened, I immediately got a pit in my stomach. There were several men killed, and I had a feeling someone I knew was among them. It’s a feeling you can’t really describe. But it wasn’t a good thing I knew that. When I logged onto facebook I saw my friend’s pages and their statuses implied Mike had been one of them.

Immediately I felt sick. I understand a lot of soldiers, civilians, loved ones, friends, etc have given their lives during this war (and many others), but you never expect someone you know to be one of them. Not that it makes it meaningless when you don’t know those that have died, but when you actually served with someone and were friends with them, it changes everything. It makes you angry, sad, vengeful, sick, and bewildered all at once.

The news says he was recently engaged and had just bought a house. And now the dreams are over. Families, friends, everyone is left behind wondering why. Why do these awful terrible things have to happen to such good people. Such honorable, strong, courageous people.

Most of us just want this war to be over. And they keep putting dates out as to when we will be fully turned over and out of there. But can you really put a date/timeline on this sort of thing? Naturally we would love for our people to be home. Those that we have a life with, those we are friends with, those we have served with, but we will be done when we are done. All we can do is fight this war, and do the best that we can using the resources we have.

Personally I would like to take the whole fucking place out. What good comes from it? If there was a way to get all of the innocent civilians out of the theater and then bomb it to hell, that would be a perfect solution. But we all know this is not possible.

I wasn’t best friends with Mike, or even close friends, but I do know that he was one of a kind, he loved his country, he loved his fiance, he loved his family, and it is a shame he was taken. People say there is a reason for everything, but I’m not seeing the light at the end of the tunnel for this one. Mike was taken too early. His job in life and the military were not done.

I know he would want us to all move on with our lives and do what makes us happy, and he would tell his family that everything would be okay, because he was just that kind of guy, but for right now this whole thing is making me realize life is so precious.

Actions

Information

2 responses

10 08 2011
Sis

Aw. I’m sorry sis.

17 08 2011
Jules

very heartfelt and well spoken. love you.

Leave a Reply

