It’s like the Twilight Zone

18 04 2011

They say don’t type angry…what are the guidelines for blogging angry?

Really fucking fed up with my career. Maybe it’s just locational sadness. If anyone is thinking about getting stationed at a “Flag Command” and there are some prominent military figures in your life preaching at your face that it’s “good for your career” or “it’s a good place for evals” or any other kind of ninny nanny bullshit, please put your hand up to their face, flip your hair, and turn the other way(this may be slightly less dramatic for the fellas in this scenario). Please, please. Please.

This place is so sad. I will openly admit that the chain of command is better than that piece of shit arrangement from my former duty station, but other than that, this place is not good for anything. Especially evals or enhancing your career. And if you are slotted to work in a shop where nobody does anything. ANYTHING, then look the fuck out. You will be in a world of stress. Seriously. I think we have all had that job where you are smothered by taskers with no way of coming out on top, but at least (1) you are given ample time to complete said tasking, and (2) there are several other people in your shop that are willing to take on the case load. Not here. I’m not sure why no one is motivated to do anything, but for one reason or another we have ten less people than we are slotted to have, and we have double the work. And you look around the shop and no one is really working on anything. ANYTHING. When I got here we were a highly productive shop, we had a boss who pushed us, who did operations and administration duties at the same time, and we had a leader who wanted to make progress, who encouraged us to develop and work on new avenues of what we do. Now, bossman could give two shits and bossman two only cares about off time. I don’t even know where he’s been the last three or four hours. When there are only four people in a shop why do you need three leadership positions is what really boggles my mind. It’s not like each one of them do something so extraordinary that they need a title.

If you are reading this and you work with me, I’m not really sorry or ready to apologize for the harsh wordings. But maybe one day when you are sitting around doing God knows what, on facebook, google, wandering around base, catching butterflies, maybe it will occur to you that there is shit to do around here and our shop CAN and USED TO make a difference and make shit happen. What have we done lately? What kind of impact have we made on operations that we can specifically blame on our perseverance and hard work? What have I personally contributed to this? What SHOULD I be doing while I am sitting at my computer staring off into oblivion? Am I completely happy with how I spend my day, was I productive and helpful to everyone that I could be, did I complete any taskers, did I coordinate with other shops? If any one of those is no, then youa re not doing your job, and you should not receive a paycheck. The Navy doesn’t ask much of you. Do your effing job.

Former boss just walked in here and said: “What are you doing?”

BLHLS: “Sir, I’m hate-blogging.”

Sir: “Well, I’m going to go grab a beer and come back for the 1730 meeting.”

Excellent.

Though I do not condone the shitbaggedness previously described up yonder, this statement was pretty hilarious.

I bet you are wondering, “Hey, bloodlovehopeluststeam, why is there a picture of an exquisitely delicious looking jar cake on this i’m feeling especially sorry for my pathetic self miserable post??”

Well, listen up. Someone in our shop has a nice wife who sends us goodies, and on this particular day she sent a 40lb box full of sweets. Who needs their teeth to rot?

Not I; my efforts at turning down anything sugar-fied are literally nonexistent. So I get pissed and eat. And eat. And devour, and eat.

I didn’t even know that cooking a cake in a jar was possible. But sure enough, six of these jobbies arrived yesterday. Three are gone.

Husband of aforementioned wife said that you just put the batter in these jars, pop them in the oven and cook like normal. when they come out of the oven, you put the jar tops on and they are magically sealed. Like, pressure sealed. So when you open them they do that ‘jelly-jar-pop’, signifying they have been sealed shut. And are fresh as a daisy when you open them. Moist and yummy. They have that just-out-of-grandma’s-oven taste. Yum yum.

Actions

Information

3 responses

18 04 2011
MagWag

I sent Moose some jar cakes when he was deployed. They are not too hard to make as long as you don’t fill them too full. Just think, you are almost done over there and you will get to see a new baby soon 🙂 I might even make you your own special jar cake when you get here.

18 04 2011
jerry adams

I understand your frustration, however I can only speak for myself…being that I will be left here ALONE to do everything that is being done now. I am basically on cruise control. I don’t leave until Jan 2012 possibly Dec 2012 and I actually have to pace myself….otherwise I may explode! We have both been on the brink of insanity caused by this place. Seeing as I really can’t leave or change anything I’m choosing to focus more improving my shitty eval…unfortunately completing bullshit taskers is not the way to do it. I do commend and admire your work ethic and your positive motivation and believe me it does make a difference. I know you hate me, but I’ll live with that 😦

18 04 2011
God

This to shall pass my child. This will be nothing more than a distant memory.

Leave a Reply

