Pocket Gypsy

15 02 2011

Gypsy…psychic. It’s the same thing in my book. But I suppose psychics tend to stay-put, unlike the incoherent-rambling specimen of Gypsy portrayed in “Snatch”. I really do believe they can see the future…well a select few of them anyway. You can’t just pick any old gypsy. Well, gypsies are hard to come by, so for the sake of this story, we’ll stick with the terminology “psychic”. It sounds more professional anyhow. “So, what do you do for work?” …”Well, I’m a gypsy.” …. “Soooo you travel and stuff….and steal shit?” That conversation would get nowhere fast.

I have seen a total of two psychics in my life. I’m not going to let just anyone wander around in this head of mine, so of course I was careful and selective with my psychic selection. I did my research. These weren’t no clown/carnival sideshows or run-of-the-mill psychic. With that said, how much research can you actually do to find the right psychic? In Hawaii it was hard to even put my finger on one. They aren’t exactly listed in the phonebook..and the storefronts don’t really look legit, no matter how professional of a mind-reader you may be. I can’t think of any storefront advertisement that put off that swanky “I’m a well-to-do professional” vibe. Ah well. Onto the main dish:

So, while I was stationed in Hawaii, I had the privilege of playing host/tour guide to several of my friends who would come and visit. My sister happens to be a teacher and has summers off, so she got to come stay with me three summers in a row. One of these said summers we tracked down a psychic in Pearl City. She didn’t seem like the creepy sacrifice-an-animal sort, so we strolled in, offered up $50 for her services, and threw caution to the wind. Sister went first. Then I went. After our readings the gypsy witch had told us to not share what she had told us (which made me think…does this lady offer the same future for multiple people, sisters even??). Of course we shared.

I forget what they told my sister, she could recount it I’m sure, but this lady was riiight on point for me. It was crazy. There wasn’t any introduction, Hi I’m bloodlovehopeluststeam, Hi I’m a gypsy type of thing. There wasn’t a, I’m from Wisconsin and I like the Packers shit. You just sit down, and shazam, the psyching begins. Firstly: we didn’t say we were sisters, but when I sat down she said, “That’s your sister, isn’t it?” Yup. Then she mentioned something about my hair being naturally curly all my life and hers being naturally straight (funny thing is, hers was curled that day ..by way of iron). Creepy shit, guys. Then she assessed that I had been in Hawaii for a couple of years but I was getting ready to move on. (At the time I had been accepted to Law School and was just about to be discharged from the Navy). She said I love to go to school, learn all I can (I had just recently graduated college), and that I would end up in a job where I was helping people. (Hellooooo Lawyer). By this point I was in the palm of her hand, like warm gooey puddy, waiting to be raped of the mind. Then she said I hadn’t had much luck in the love business, but that I had dated a couple of guys in HI. I asked her when I would get married, she said within the next five years and it would be to someone I hadn’t met yet. At the time of the reading I was engaged…so that was awkward. Turns out, I didn’t end up marrying the guy. Guess I should have taken action sooner than later on calling off that courtship. I mean, there were several other intimate things she knew about that I hadn’t told a soul… It was uncanny.

My second encounter was with my friend Jigs in San Diego a couple years later. This was a gypsy encounter of a different type. I will get into that story later…

What if you were a legit psychic…and you knew every single event that would occur in your life, your friends’ lives…I think it would really ruin life, to be honest. That’s why so many people are against the whole peeking into the future thing. I would never want to know when I was going to die, but if you were actually a psychic you would know these things, and you would try to change your journey in life, and maybe those around you. It would be exhausting.

All considering, I sort of wish I would have a gypsy on command ready for an infrequent inquiry every now and then.

It’s always good to be prepared, right? That’s what my mom said.

 

Actions

Information

3 responses

15 02 2011
MagWag

They are freaky creatures, those psychic gypsies. They get a few things wrong but the ones I have gone to have been pretty good. They keep telling me I’m stubborn though. Not sure where they get that from. . .

16 02 2011
bloodlovehopeluststeam

lol right right

16 02 2011
Sis

The Magwag I know would neeeeever be stubborn! Magwag’s psychic encounter cracked me up bc she told her that she had children READY to be born. We went back the next year to the same lady and Magwag was preggers! She wins!

The psychic was pretty on-point for me too. Creeeeepy!

Leave a Reply

